Pumpkin Bread

As I think I’ve said before, I love love love pumpkin. When my dad came up a few weeks ago, we bought about 5 cans of it, and I have slowly but surely using them. In my pursuit to continue making pumpkin things, I decided to make pumpkin bread yesterday. As I’ve complained countless times before, I was worried about make a bread in our very shady oven, but continued anyway. It was actually an incredibly simple recipe to make. I almost cracked open the mix-master, but decided to do it by hand because it’s less of a hassle and there is less to clean up. Don’t get me wrong – I love my mix-master – but sometimes, since I have to drag the table closer to the outlet, and have to clean the big bowl and wisk, it’s just a little easier to do it by hand.

DSC04149

The batter looked amazing. A very rich orange color that in some ways does not seem very natural, but still looked beautiful. From the moment I put it in the oven, the aroma that filled the house was amazing. I honestly think its worth making anything with some pumpkin just to get the smell. So after leaving it in for about 45 minutes, I checked it and of course it was not done yet. I let it stay in the oven for another 10 minutes and even though it could have lasted maybe another 5, I took it out because I was worried it would get to dry.

DSC04145

Needless to say, it was not to dry at all, in fact the bottom was completely cooked, but I blame this all on our oven. When I took it out of the oven it smelled so so good and I almost didn’t let it cool. Against my desire to eat it right away, I did let it cool, which turned out to be a very good idea because it popped right out of the tin after I let it cool for about half an hour. I went out for the evening and by the time I got back, only about 1/4 of the bread was left. I think it was a hit 🙂 I will definitely be making it again and many other pumpkin baked goods too.

PUMPKIN BREAD

(Adapted from My Kitchen Snippets)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups of pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

DIRECTIONS:

1) Pre-heat the oven to 350 degree F and grease a loaf pan.

2)  Mix pumpkin, oil, whole eggs, egg yolk, sugar and vanilla together. Mix well.

3) In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Mix thoroughly.

4) Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Mix until well combined.

5) Pour into the loaf pan and sprinkle the top with some brown sugar and pumpkin seeds.

6) Bake for 45 – 50 minutes or until golden brown.

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread

Comments:

