Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies

Sunday night. What a night. I always feel like the world is converging on me on Sunday evenings. All the work that I have procrastinated on over the weekend finally must be done and the impending doom on Monday morning looms near. This is my final week coming up. I can’t believe it. Time has flown by. I guess in a sense that is good, but I also love being here so much and all the people that I have met that I don’t ever want it to end. I’m definitely looking forward to a nice big break though. I don’t think much sleeping will be happening this week given the amount of writing and reading that has to take place before Friday (which is case you forget is also the first night of Chanukah! woot woot!) This all being said, I thought this evening would be a perfect time to take a break, well kind of since there was still some work going on, and bake!

I have a group project due in one of my classes tomorrow and instead of making it a strictly study session, my lovely friends and I decided to join the prospect of baking and learning altogether to create a quite enjoyable evening. As we worked and discussed on our project – which I’ll have you know has clips of an almost naked Brad Pitt – we whipped together some peanut butter whoopie pies.

The first batch of cookies I took out of the oven was a complete disaster – tasteless, cakey, sticky – all parts of a horrible cookie. I almost threw the batter out, but instead forged on and decided to bake the next batch a little longer. It was a good idea, because even just two more minutes of baking and they turned out so much better. With two huge whoopie cakes enveloping peanut butter frosting, it was almost impossible to finish a whole one. The last time a I made whoopie pies, they were much denser whereas these were light, but “satisfying knowing that you only have to eat half of it to get a good dose of dessert.” (Charlotte)

I would definitely make these again and now plan on having all my future study session combined with baking parties!

PEANUT BUTTER WHOOPIE PIES

(Adapted from Marth Stewart’s Cookies)

INGREDIENTS:

  • For the Cookies:
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, not Dutch-process
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large egg
  • 2 cups buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • For the Filling:
  • 1 1/3 cups natural, creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar (I added a bit more to finish the box)

DIRECTIONS:

1) Make cookies: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a small bowl; set aside.

2) Put butter and sugar into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on high speed until smooth, about 3 minutes.

3) Add eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla; mix until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

4) Slowly add dry ingredients until well combined.

5) Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until cookies spring back when lightly touched, about 10 minutes.

6) Let cool on sheets on wire racks 10 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks using a spatula; let cool completely.

7) Make filling: Put peanut butter and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on high speed until smooth. Reduce mixer speed to low.

8 ) Add confectioners’ sugar; mix until combined. Raise speed to high, and mix until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes.

9) Assemble cookies: Spread 1 tablespoon (I’d say more) filling on the bottom of 1 cookie. Sandwich with another cookie. Repeat with remaining cookies and filling. Cookies can be refrigerated in single layers in airtight containers up to 3 days. Bring to room temperature before serving.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies

Comments:

