Rocky Ledge Bars

So I’m back to baking in my tiny little dorm room kitchen. I guess I can’t really complain given that most dorms don’t even have kitchens, but after the luxury of using my oven back home last weekend, I guess I still feel a little bit spoiled. That being said, I’m super happy to be back in NYC. I had a great time in Israel and North Carolina, but it was still so nice coming back and seeing my roommate and suite-mates. Classes are back in full swing and I’m already swamped with homework even in the first weekend.

That being said, Friday night we still had to have a bit of fun 😉 We had a big game night – mostly involving cranium and a super intense game of charades. There were about 11 of us and we all had loads of fun. I decided to make rocky ledge bars for our little soiree. I was almost going to make cupcakes, but then realized that those were way too involved for the hour I had designated for baking on Friday afternoon. They were super easy to make – although the brown sugar we had was rock solid and I had to spend 15 minutes softening it up in the microwave – but otherwise it was basically just dumping a bunch of chips, caramels, and marshmallows and a bit of cookie dough and popping in the oven.

I only got time to take a picture of the mixture, since they were all gobbled up during game night. As you can see, it’s just a jumble of amazing things. I kind of skimmed the recipe and decided to add more or less of whichever chocolate/caramel/marshmallow I liked. A+

ROCKY LEDGE BARS

(Adapted from Martha Stewart Cookie Book)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 1/2 cups packed dark-brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup miniature marshmallows
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup white chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 18 soft caramel-candy cubes, coarsely chopped (I used these nifty little caramel balls that I found instead and used 1 cup)

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly butter a 9-by-13-inch baking pan. Line with parchment paper, allowing a 2-inch overhang on the longer sides. Brush parchment with butter (not overhang)

2) Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.

3) Using an electric mixer (I used a wooden spoon, since I didn’t feel like taking out the mixer), mix butter and brown sugar until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla; mix until well combined.

4) Mix in flour mixture until combined. Fold in half of each of the marshmallows, chocolates, butterscotch chips, and caramels.

5) Spread batter in prepared pan. Scatter remaining marshmallows, chocolates, butterscotch chips, and caramels on top.

6) Bake until top is golden brown and a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean, about 35 minutes.

7) Let cool on a wire rack. Lift out of pan, and transfer to a baking sheet. Refrigerate until set, at least 30 minutes.

8 ) Remove parchment, and cut into about 16 triangles. Bars can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.

One thought on “Rocky Ledge Bars

Comments:

