Monster Cookies & Birthday

So yesterday was my birthday! I’M 20 YEARS OLD! I can’t believe  it. I feel so old, but at the same time, no different then I did last week. I guess it will just take a little time to settle in the fact that I’m now in my 20’s. My dad joked that he doesn’t think I’ve changed in 20 years, except for maybe a little more hair and my grandfather said he wasn’t sure I’d make it this long 😉


Saturday night, my roomies threw me an incredible party! My lovely roommate took it upon herself to go to four different cupcakes shops in the city to get different cupcakes so that we could have a sampling. It was so much better then cake. Instead of one type of cake, we all got to try chocolate, vanilla, red velvet, mocha, s’mores, and many many more. She got them from Butter Lane, Crumbs, Cupcake Cafe, and Chikalicious. It was amazing! We played a massive game of charades and then broke out the karaoke machine and sang some amazing songs. There was a slight damper on the evening when the fire alarm went off at 1:30 in the morning, but once we got back inside, I got to open all my presents! All and all, I’d say it was one of my most memorable birthdays.

Now of course, even I couldn’t go without baking for my own birthday. I decided on some cookies that I had planned on making weeks ago, but couldn’t because the dough has to be fridgerated for hours. Basically a mix of oatmeal, peanut butter and some M&M’s, monster cookies are bound to become my new comfort cookie. Except for the fridge time, they were incredibly easy to make and to add to the peanut butter, I decided on peanut M&M’s instead of plain ones. The 5 cups of oatmeal lends to many many cookies – I’d say about 40 cookies. I gave a bunch away to my family because there was no way we could finish them all. Hopefully they’ll enjoy them 🙂

MONSTER COOKIES

(Adapted from BAKED)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 5 ¾ cups rolled oats
  • ¾ cups (1 ½ sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 ½ cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 ½ cups granulated sugar
  • 5 large eggs
  • ¼ tsp light corn syrup (I didn’t have any, and didn’t feel like venturing out to get any, and they seemed to turn out fine without)
  • ¼ tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups chunky peanut butter (I used smooth)
  • 1 cup (6 ounces) milk or semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1 cup (6 ounces) M&M’s (Decided on peanut M&M’s instead to give it even more peanuty flavor – used three packages)

DIRECTIONS:

1) In a large bowl whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together. Add the oats and stir until combined.

2) In the bowl of electric mixer with paddle attachment, cream butter until smooth and pale in color.

3) Add the sugars and mix on low speed until just incorporated. Do not overmix.

4) Scrape down bowl and add eggs one at a time, beating until smooth (about 20 seconds) and scraping down bowl after each edition.

4) Add the corn syrup and vanilla and beat until incorporated.

5) Scrape down bowl and add peanut butter. Mix on low speed until just combined, add the oat mixture in three additions, mixing on low speed until just incorporated.

6) Use a spatula or wooden spoon and fold in the chocolate chips and M&M’s.

7) Cover bowl tightly and refrigerate for 5 hours.

8 ) Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

9) Use ice cream scoop to scoop out dough into 2- tablespoon size balls on two baking sheets – 2 inches apart. (I just used my hands)

10) Bake for 12-15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through baking time. Let cool on pans for 8-10 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

2 thoughts on “Monster Cookies & Birthday

Comments:

