November Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Crostata

In addition to all the baking I had in-store for Thanksgiving, I also had to complete my Daring Bakers’ challenge for the month. I decided to wait until the end of the month,  so I could use the crust for a pumpkin pie, given the necessity of pumpkin pie at any Thanksgiving table. Some people think that pumpkin pie isn’t a necessary item on a Thanksgiving dessert menu. I on the other hand, think it’s the only dessert worth having. I wait all year for it!

The 2010 November Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Simona of briciole. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make pasta frolla for a crostata. She used her own experience as a source, as well as information from Pellegrino Artusi’s Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well.

The crostata was really quite simple to make – just like most other pie doughs with the addition of an egg. It was a little dense the following day out of the fridge, so I made sure to let it warm up a bit before it rolled out. After all the baking of the weekend, we only had a pie tin left, so it was not exactly a tart per-se as the recipe wanted it to be, but I still think it was delicious nonetheless. I was worried the crostata wouldn’t cover the whole pan given how big it was, but my worries were not needed, as it fit perfectly.

Of course, I find it almost impossible to bake a pie without burning it, especially pumpkin, which has to stay in the oven for so long. After 40 minutes, my friend said to me “Oh right, we should have tented it!” Oh well. The side was a little burnt, but the inside still tasted yummy. I love pumpkin pie, I wait for it every year, and with the addition of a new pie crust, it was better than ever. I just followed the recipe off the side of a can for the filling, and voila! A perfect (albeit little bit burnt) pumpkin crostata pie.

Head over to http://thedaringkitchen.com/ to see the recipe and other daring adventures!

5 thoughts on “November Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Crostata

  1. i am so glad to read that the pasta frolla crust made your pumpkin pie “better than ever” and I am glad that the challenge contributed to a nice Thanksgiving meal.

Comments:

