A New Year

So I have failed miserably at keeping my poor blog updated these past few weeks. I’m so incredibly sorry, but I’m back and ready to bake again in 2011! I just returned from an amazing trip to Oregon where I grew up. It was so nice to be there – I hadn’t been back in almost 3 years. I had a great time hanging out with friends, hiking, biking, shopping, and most especially, eating. There are so many places to eat in Eugene and I don’t think a day passed that I wasn’t out eating a some restaurant or bakery.

One of my favorite eating establishments happens to be in Eugene. It’s called Sweet Life Patisserie. In my opinion, it is quite possibly one of the most amazing bakeries in all the world. They actually made my brothers wedding cake almost 15 years ago when they were just starting out. They have now evolved into a beautiful bakery and cafe with an additional wedding cake showroom. I have never failed to get something delicious while I was there and this time was no exception. We got marionberry cheesecake and an opera cake, which was so rich we couldn’t even finish it. Now I’m not sure what marionberries even are exactly, but I really have only ever seen them in the Pacific Northwest and they are just amazing. They really need to import them out east.


In the midst of all my other activities in Eugene, I did manage to sneak in some time to make a really delicious cranberry chocolate torte. Now, my friend just had the recipe around her house, so I’m not sure the source, but here are some lovely photos. As you can see, I discovered a new color function on my camera 🙂

I’m excited to bake again in 2011 and can’t wait to keep you updated!

3 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Wikipedia says: “The ‘Marion’ cultivar or Marion blackberry, marketed as marionberry, is a hybrid caneberry developed by the USDA ARS breeding program in cooperation with Oregon State University. It is a cross between the ‘Chehalem’ and ‘Olallie’ berries. The marionberry is currently the most common blackberry cultivar, accounting for over half of all blackberries produced in Oregon.”
    A local treat indeed!

  2. sounds to me like the city of Eugene or the local chamber of commerce might well want to hire you to write about the food wonders of Eugene…are there any good raw food or vegan establishments these days? just walked home after stopping for tea and snack at the new German Colony branch of the oldest veggie restaurant in Jerusalem.. I chose a nut,dates, and sesame seeds cookie roll instead of luscious looking cheese cake and apple pie….fruit, wheat, cow milk, and cane sugar desserts, much as I love them , are old world in the cutting edge of healthy eating… daily shot of wheatgrass really does suppress the appetite in addition to cleansing the body of the toxins left by sugar, gluten etc.

Comments:

