Peanut Butter Brownies

It’s almost time to go back to school. I’m savoring these last few days of freedom before I get inundated with work again. It has been slushy and snowy most of the week in New York, but at least one of my roommates came home this past weekend, so I haven’t been all by myself. Hopefully, I’ll keep finding time to bake when I get back into the swing of school. I’m going to try and make something at least once a week and update the blog accordingly. Let’s see how that turns out!

I was at Jack’s 99 cent store in Midtown the other day and discovered some glorious things. On the first floor, it’s all 99 cent items, pretty cheap, nothing special, but if one ventures up one or even two more floors, one can find all sorts of delightful things that are a little more expensive, but still incredibly cheap. I got 4 oz. bars of Ghirardelli’s baking chocolate that are usually 4 or 5 dollars at the regular supermarket for $1.99! I got a little over excited when I saw that they sold Pellegrino, but controlled myself by just getting the chocolate and some peanut butter.

When I got home, I realized that with my newly acquired purchases, I could make some peanut butter brownies. I was very impatient making these last night and didn’t let the brownies bake long enough, but the peanut butter frosting is still really delicious. If I were to make these again, I would either bake them longer or use a different brownie recipe with the same peanut butter frosting. The Reese’s on top are the perfect complement to some already peanut buttery brownies.

Peanut Butter Brownies

 

INGREDIENTS:

Brownie Layer

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, chips or chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup roasted salted peanuts, coarsely chopped

Peanut Butter Layer

  • 1 cup peanut butter (not natural or old-fashioned)
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Peanut Butter Cups, cut into quarters

DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 9 X 9 inch baking pan with foil and butter the foil.

2) Melt butter and chocolate in a double-boiler. Stir until chocolate is melted. Beat in the sugar followed by the eggs, vanilla extract and kosher salt.

3) Gradually add the flour and stir until combined.  Add the salted peanuts.

4) Spread the batter in the prepared pan.

5) Bake until tester inserted into center comes out with moist crumbs attached, about 22-25 minutes.  Cool the brownies to room temperature.

6) While brownies are cooling, sing an electric mixer, beat together the peanut butter and 1/4 cup softened unsalted butter in medium bowl.

7) Beat in the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla.  The mixture should be very spreadable.  If, for some reason, it isn’t, incorporate a little more milk.  Spread this over the cool brownies.

8 ) Top with Reese’s and enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Brownies

Comments:

