Goodbye Marseille, Hello Paris!

With a heavy heart, I left Marseille this morning to start a new adventure in Paris. Charlotte and I have been together for 2 and 1/2, so it was very sad to say goodbye to each other, but with 21st century technology, I know we’ll keep in touch more than we probably do even when we live in the same city. Coming to Marseille was the perfect way to start my time in France. I got to speak a lot of French, eat a lot of really good food, and be part of a French family for 10 days. It was wonderful! Charlotte’s grandma has already invited me back!

By the way – HAPPY NEW YEAR! Can you believe it’s 2012 already? I was ready for 2011 to be over and am ready to move on with my life again post-cancer. Char, her brother, her cousin, and I went to a fun little party out in the country where we had wonderful dinner, hung around, and just partied into the New Year. Waking up on New Years Day was amazing – it was literally 60 degrees outside, if not more. I was so beautiful and wonderful way to spend my last day in Marseille.

Once again, the TGV never ceases to amaze me. It’s just so fast! I successfully navigated the metro from Gare de Lyon with two backpacks and one shoulder bag, got stuck in the turnstile once, and made my way to my apartment, which is in the 11th arrondissement. I’ve come to the conclusion that the Paris metro is not as scary as I had anticipated. I think I had this fear that since I know the New York subway so well, learning anything new would be impossible. But not so! I made my way to David’s apartment to pick up my stuff without a hassle and he helped me get a Navigo pass, which is an unlimited metrocard with my picture on it! Next task will be to the know the Paris metro as well as I know the New York one.

I am so happy with my apartment! It was a little daunting walking up the four flights of stairs at first, but it’s well worth the haul. Bringing my suitcase up the stairs was genuinely one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life. I vow to never carry anything more than 20 to 30 pounds up again without help for fear of slipping and falling. I’ve only done a little bit of snooping around my neighborhood, but so far, it seems pretty awesome. I went out and bought a bit of food and tonight I think I’m going to stay-in, unpack, and enjoy my new digs! Much more to report tomorrow and this coming week as I get to know the area 🙂

Here’s the kitchen, with the stove that I so desperately wanted: 

Living room with pull out king-size couch:A view from above:

My bed, which is up a ladder (hopefully I won’t tumble down ;-): 

Huge closet (I think it’s a sign I need to go shopping): 

One thought on “Goodbye Marseille, Hello Paris!

Comments:

